Sustainability Energy Efficiency (Se2) Awards

The awards recognize leadership in energy efficient and sustainable design, construction, and operation of Wisconsin commercial buildings and related systems, and consist of three levels:
  • "Focus on Energy Award of Excellence" - exceptional achievement and overall excellence
  • "Award of Merit" - acknowledge commendable achievement
  • "Special Citation" - recognize superior elements of an outstanding design
Winning projects receive visibility and recognition through press releases, website presence, and an award ceremony. Past participants have also enjoyed the greater cooperation among owners, designers, builders, and operators that collaborated to compile information required for entry.

Wisconsin Green Building Alliance honors state's greenest projects, recent JSOnline article by Tom Content

James Benya PE, FIES, FIALD

James Benya is a professional engineer and lighting designer with 41 years of experience in architectural lighting design including daylighting, theatrical and performance lighting, urban streetscapes, light as art and zero net energy building design. Jim has been a adjunct professor of architecture since 1974 at several colleges including the University of Michigan and the University of California. He is also the author of two books, Lighting Design Basics and Retrofitting and Relighting, and among the most widely respected writers, bloggers, international lecturers and speakers in the field of lighting design, daylighting design and efficient buildings. Together with lead author Deborah Burnett, James will be penning his third Wiley Publication entitled Evidence Based Lighting Design tentatively scheduled for release in late 2014, to address the emerging Light and Health field.

Mr. Benya provides expert and educational consulting services including expert witness and testimony, product design and development, class development and teaching, technical writing and codes and standards development. The majority of current work involves light and the environment, emphasizing the proper application of light at night.

James has served as chair of the IES Board of Fellows, the IES Energy Committee, the IES Education Committee, the IALD Fellows Committee, the IALD Education Committee, and the IALD External Affairs Committee. He helped found the Lighting Certified credential and was chair of the NCQLP Test and Certification committees. He is a past Board member of the International Association of Lighting Designers and a current Board Member of the International Dark Sky Association (IDA). He currently serves as chair of the US Model Lighting Ordinance committee and the IDA Technical Committee. He is the past Chair of the LightFair Conference Committee and a past Member of the Board of LightFair International. As a public speaker, he is in demand throughout the world, including a record of 55 presentations at LightFair International and as co-leader of the Velux International Daylighting Symposium in Europe between 2007 and 2013, where be presented symposium seminars in Bilbao, Spain; Rotterdam, Netherlands; Lausanne, Switzerland; and Copenhagen, Denmark. He has presented at the PLDC in Berlin, 2009; Madrid, 2011; and Copenhagen, 2013.

Learn more about Mr. Benya

Donald McLauchlan, PE, CEM, LEED AP BD+C
Founder & Principal, Elara Energy Services, Inc.

Donald J. McLauchlan, P.E., C.E.M., LEED AP BD+C is a founder and principal of Elara Energy Services, Inc. (d.b.a. Elara Engineering) who has more than 35 years of experience in MEP design, construction and commissioning. He focuses on energy efficient design in the building environment. This includes new construction, major renovations, problem solving, green building and fully integrated sustainable systems. He has led engineering teams on projects for large commercial buildings, schools, universities and hospitals, among others. He has also acted as an expert witness to help parties resolve major construction disputes, and has been retained as a consulting engineer to offer alternative resolutions to problem projects.

Don has received 16 First Place Illinois ASHRAE Excellence in Engineering awards, two First Place Midwest Regional ASHRAE Technology awards, a first place International Society level ASHRAE Technology Award, a Green Design Award from the Institute of Real Estate Management (IREM) and a Green Innovation Emerald Award from the United States Green Building Council (USGBC).

A licensed professional engineer in several states including Illinois, Wisconsin, Michigan, Indiana, Missouri, Iowa and Florida, Don is a certified energy manager and LEED accredited professional. He has authored several technical articles for the ASHRAE Journal and other trade journals and has been a speaker at numerous industry conferences. Don has his BSME degree from the University of Illinois Chicago.

Prior to his work at Elara, Don was owner and president of Arrowhead Environmental Control, a major Chicago area mechanical design-build contracting company, a business that his father founded in 1951. In his years as a mechanical contractor owner/operator he has experienced and managed the complete range of services in this field, including installation, design-build, retrofit, energy management, automation controls, service and customer support.

William Sturm AIA, LEED AP, CPHC
Co-Founder, Serena Sturm Architects

William (Bill) Sturm is a co-founder of Serena Sturm Architects, a practice dedicated to restorative architectural design. Serena Sturm's professional commitment to the environmental movement for over 30 years has resulted in pioneering "green" commissions that have served as studied examples for the public and professionals.

As the 2014 Chair of the AIA National Committee on the Environment Advisory Group, Bill helps steward the profession towards a design ethic of energy and resource conservation to achieve a sustainable future. Mr. Sturm has lectured on the benefits of high performance building design to numerous professional, educational, and civic organizations. His firm’s environmental efforts have been featured on the radio, TV and within the print media. In 2007 Bill along with his partner Marty Serena were selected for Chicago Magazine’s first annual “Chicago Environmental Awards”. In 2011 Bill received the prestigious “Friends of Ryerson Woods” environmental service award.

Past Se2 Award Recipients

Clock Shadow Building, submitted by Continuum Architects
Wisconsin Energy Institute, submitted by Mortenson Construction
Glen Hills Middle School, submitted by Transwestern
City of Edgerton City Hall, submitted by Eppstein Uhen Architects, Inc.
UW-Milwaukee Cambridge Commons, submitted by HGA Architects and Engineers
UW-Oshkosh Sage Hall, submitted by Berners-Schober Associates, Inc.

© Wisconsin Green Building Alliance
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software